Queen's Head


Sunday 25/03/18…..THE HARRISONS




Sunday 08/04/18……ALBINO FROGS


Wednesday 11/04/18 Duski

Aidan Thorne's Duski project has grown over the years both in compositional strength and unity as a coherent playing outfit. Thorne's writing certainly does provide a refreshing repertoire which echoes broad and diverse sources. Duski is a young contemporary band, with plenty to say. Well worth listening to, bringing whatever 'jazz music' is, bang up to date!




Wednesday 18/04/18 JPG trio

With his melifluous right hand, poly harmonic left hand and a groove-some left foot, John Paul-Gard brings his hammond sound back to the Queens. Top that with the powerhouse of Toby Perrett on drums and hyper-dexterity of Matt Hopkins on guitar.

The most strutful groove in Funkdom!


Sunday 22/04/18……NORTH STAR(MATT/TAMZIN)


Sunday 29/04/18…….THE DRIFT


Sunday 06/05/18…….FEDORA CHIC


Sunday 13/05/18……WILL KILLEEN


Wednesday 16/05/18 John Law's Re-Creations project

Alongside jazz tunes by Monk and others, arrangements of tunes including Adele, Daft Punk and Kate Bush, Michael Jackson’s Billie Jean, two tunes by Radiohead


Sunday 20/05/18…….BIG HUT NO CATTLE




Wednesday 30/05/18

Adam Pultz-Melbye double bass, Simon Rose baritone saxophone, Paul Stapleton sound sculpture. Astonishingly creative gig with Stapleton's home created instrument and Berlin based Rose's sympathetic baritone, under pinned by Pultz-Melbye's sonorious bass playing.


Sunday 03/06/18…….RED RIVER BLUES


Wednesday 06/06/18 TrioHLK

Jazz guitar, contemporary classical piano and masterful percussion.


Sunday 10/06/18…….BELLEVILLE SWING


Wednesday 13/06/18 Kevin Figes Quartet

***** Jazz Special *****

Figes' Quartet play his own distinctive compositions and have performed all over the UK for many years to enthusiastic audiences to widespread critical acclaim and airplay
. There is a striking level of empathy and interplay within the Quartet that comes from a combination of highly accomplished players, all great improvisors in their own right, who have worked closely together for some time.
The compositions are constantly developing to produce work which is challenging and contemporary . Influences include David Binney, Dave Holland, Chris Potter, John Escreet, Hermeto Pascoal, Soft Machine and much '70s prog rock. The aim is to produce personal music in a fearless and evolving way.
Kevin Figes (Saxes and compositions), Jim Blomfield (Piano), Riaan Vosloo (Bass), Mark Whitlam (Drums)


Sunday 17/06/18……DAN JAMES


Wednesday 11/07/18 Burum

Welsh super group bringing jazz and Welsh folk tunes together as one.


Wednesday 18/7/18 Hiby-Bardon-Hession

***** Jazz Special *****

Having played an astonishingly powerful gig at the Queens in 2016 the Hiby-Bardon-Hession trio return to bring an intense evening of extemporised collective soundscapes.
The combined but restrained focus of their last performance was akin to the darkening and impending thrill of a brewing thunderstorm never quite breaking but bound to at any minute. A delight for the audible senses spilling out to the cliches of hair raising on the arms and neck and of course the unbelievable, near telepathic, understanding of the players drawing you in like a rip-tide on a dark night.

A world class trio from three players with huge international reputations combining Wuppertal and Leeds in a common European understanding.
Hans Peter Hiby - tenor/alto saxophones, Michael Bardon - double bass, Paul Hession - drum set ()


Wednesday 12/09/18 Tassos Spiliotopoulos' Swedish Band

Tassos returns from Stockholm with his quartet.


Wednesday 14/11/18 7Steps - Miles Davis contemporary interpretations

Tomos Williams (Burum) brings his Welsh/Irish band using the breadth of the Miles Davis catalogue.

Drop Us A Line or Pick Up the Phone

You can contact us by email. Or, alternatively, pick up the phone and give us a call on 01600 712767. Thanks.